Emotional health and wellbeing criteria

Emotional health and wellbeing criteria

The Early Years Foundation Stage sets out the learning and development requirements for personal, social and emotional development. This area of learning involves helping children to:

  • develop a positive sense of themselves, and others
  • form positive relationships and develop respect for others
  • develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings
  • understand appropriate behaviour in groups
  • have confidence in their own abilities

The Healthy Tots programme sets out the outcomes for emotional health and wellbeing. These are described as:

  • children report they can understand their feelings and are becoming more confident in expressing and managing them
  • children report improvements in their relationships and that they know how to resolve conflicts
  • children report that other children are more welcoming and friendly
  • staff report better relationships with children and greater confidence in dealing with emotional difficulties when they arise
  • staff report they know how to support on more common emotional issues amongst children for example dealing with bereavement
  • there is an increase in participation of parents/carers in the setting

The pages below will offer you support when working towards your Leicestershire Healthy Tots status. However you will also find additional information on the Emotional Health and Wellbeing pages.